The Society for Veterinary Medical Ethics

Click below to:


Donate to SVME


2020: Alice Villalobos, DVM, FNAP

President, Society for Veterinary Medical Ethics, Fellow Emeritus, National Academies of PracticePast President, American Association of Human-Animal Bond Veterinarians, International Association of Animal Hospice and Palliative Care Director, Pawspice & Animal Oncology Consultation Service, CAFear Free Advisory GroupAdvisory Board, Grey Muzzle OrganizationFounder, Peter Zippi Memorial Fund for AnimalsBoard of Directors, Animal Health Foundation of the SCVMABabelBark Advisory Board Member


Andrew is a Professor of Animal Welfare and Ethics, and Founding Director of the Centre for Animal Welfare, at the Univ. of Winchester a European and RCVS Veterinary Specialist in Animal Welfare Science, Ethics and Law; an American and New Zealand (founding) Veterinary Specialist in Animal Welfare; and a Senior Fellow of the British Higher Education Academy. He has led major animal advocacy campaigns since the mid 1990s, has over 80 academic publications, a sizeable series of YouTube has delivered more than 150 presentations on animal welfare and advocacy issues at universities and conferences in numerous countries.

2018: Al Dorn, DVM, DACVS
professor emeritus at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine in Knoxville, and a cofounder of SVME, Dr. Dorn helped form the group’s original constitution and bylaws and served on the association’s Program Committee. 

2017: James F. Wilson, DVM, JD
Currently teaches veterinary law, ethics, business management, and career development at 18-20 veterinary schools each year throughout the USA. He has authored six books and over 130 articles in various veterinary journals. He reviews and/or helps draft approximately 40 employment contracts/year for lawyers, practice owners, specialists, and new graduate veterinarians. In 1994, Dr. Wilson was a founder of the American Veterinary Medical Law Association. During 1996, he was awarded the prestigious Clinical Sciences Teacher of the Year Award by the Student AVMA House of Delegates, the only time this has been awarded to a non-clinician.

2015: Hal Markowitz, Ph.D.
The late Hal Markowitz was the faculty specialist in environmental enrichment and animal well-being at UC San Francisco and professor emeritus of biology at San Francisco State Univ. He was the first director of the Oregon Zoological Research Ctr and was research director at the San Francisco Zoo. He worked to design better zoos for wildlife and was known for his research on marine mammals and primates and his books, "Behavioral Enrichment in the Zoo" and "Enriching Animal Lives."  

2014: Dr. Franklin D. McMillan,DACVIM
is the Director of Well Being at Best Friends Society, and is the author of Mental Health and Well-Being in Animals.

2013: John B. McCarthy, DVM, MBA,
posthumously, for his leadership and
devotion in the field of veterinary ethics.
The SVME thanks Dr. McCarthy for being the
spearhead for the online Basic Veterinary Medical Ethics Course. This self study course 
opened for registration in May of 2013 on
the SVME web site Events page.

2012: Temple Grandin, Ph.D. of CSU  for her true courage, understanding and self determinism. She has enhanced animal welfare  and helped millions of animals  remain calm and peaceful at the end of their lives.  

2011: Dr. Franklin M. Loew of Tufts, posthumously, for his support and strong leadership in the field of veterinary medical ethics and the SVME. The Award was accepted by Dr. Debbie Kochevar, Dean of Tufts CSVM, for display in the building that bears his name. The cash award goes to student scholarships.

2009: Jerrold Tannenba um, JD of UCD, for his devotion, contributions and leadership in teaching and writing in the field of veterinary medical ethics and the SVME. JT directed his cash award for student shcolarships in ethics.   Click here to read about the 2009 recipient of the Shomer Award in the SVME newsletter

2008: Dr. Andrew Rowan of HSUS, for his pioneering role in presenting animals' issues and bioethics at Tufts and for his unwavering devotion to encourage society to help those who are mute and unable to help themselves. Click here to read about the 2008 recipient of the Shomer Award on the HSUS web site

2006: Bernard Rollin, Ph.D. of CSU, for his pioneering role in veterinary bioethics and for courage & leadership in achieving humane treatment of research animals, the prevention of animal pain, abuse and emotional stress. Click here to read about the 2006 recipient of the Shomer Award on the AVMA web site

2005: Dr. Carl A Osborne of UM, for his unique teaching and writing skills dedicated to ethical and professional behavior and for influencing thousands of veterinarians to be compassionate and to always do the right thing despite the actions of others. Click here to read the JAVMA article on the Shomer Award ceremony and Dr. Osborne

© SVME 2020.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software